Off the Hook: Silent Art Auction | Thank You!

On November 16, more than 350 people attended the MacLaren Art Centre’s 28th annual Off the Hook: Silent Art Auction, which raises essential support for Gallery programmes. One-hundred and fifty-one artists generously donated over 200 works of art. Local businesses supported the event as sponsors, advertisers and by donating dozens of Great Finds, hors-d’oeuvres and desserts. Thank you to all who contributed and attended: you made the evening a very successful one!

Above all, we gratefully acknowledge and thank the contributing artists, without whom this event would not be possible: Robert Achtemichuk, Peter Adams, Darla Anderson, Ella Anderson, John David Anderson, Deborah Atkinson, Mary Lynne Atkinson, Angela Aujla, Ghazaleh Avarzamani, Walter Bachinski, Matt Bahen, Mary Anne Barkhouse, Brian Barrer, Susan Belcher, André Beneteau, Tamara Benoit, Derek Berry, Marilyn Black, Rachel Bradbury, Pauline Bradshaw, Sandy Brand, Kim Brett, Sheila Bristow, Jason Brown, Marlene Bulas, Jocelyn Claire Burke, Jane Burns, Nadine Carr, P. Annie Churchill, Jennie Clark, Frances Cockburn, Evan Cooke, Hayden Cowie, Allan M. Craig, Justin Cruickshank, Stephen Cruise, Tanya Cunnington, John Delves, Bonnie Dorgelo, Gail Esau, Gary Evans, Rachel Evans, Michael Farnan, Margaret Ferraro, Nahúm Flores, Paul Forde, Jean Francis, Sean George, Thomas Salvatore Giglione, Greg Gillespie, James Gillespie, Janet Goldblatt-Holmes, John Gould, Christyn Grampola, Francisco-Fernando Granados, Lois Green, Irina Gretchanaia, Martha Griffith, Sadko Hadzihasanović, Shirra Harris, Katharine Harvey, Sarah Hawley, Samar Hejazi, Roy Hickling, April Hickox, Marlene Hilton Moore, Sherryl Hopper, Silvija Hord, Fred Hummel, Leonora Husveti-Frenette, Ruth Irvine, Sophie Jodoin, Marley Johnson, Deborah Jolly, Janet Jones, Jelica Jovin, Gita Karklins, Ila Anne Kellerman, Nancy Kembry, Michael Kilburn, Timothy Laurin, Lee L’Clerc, Joan LeBoeuf, Norma Lee, LeeAnn LeMesurier, John Lennard, Colleen LeRue, Joanne Lomas, Beryl Loney, Valerie Losell, Jeanette Luchese, Christina Luck, Christina MacBean, Sharon MacKinnon, Lorraine Maher, Patrick Mahon, Andrew Maize, Virginia Mak, Robert Marchessault, Sarah Martin, Ilyana Martinez, John McEwen, Landon Mackenzie, Scott McLaughlin, Charles Meanwell, Peter Robert Miehm, Sue A. Miller, Vallery Mokrytzki, Jane Monteith, Louise Moore, Laura Moore, Alex Morrison, Elaine Morton, Libby Mourant, Benjamin Oakley, Jon Oelrichs, Stu Oxley, Margaret Ann Paradis, Meaghan Paterson, Beverly Pearl, Joel Perron, Angela Plesa, Jill Price, Meghan Price, Janet Read, Heather Riley, Ashley Robinson, Milena Roglic, Maria Denise Ruby, Cheryl Ruddock, Hala Saab, Jonathan Sadowski, Nicole Schwarz, Bewabon Shilling, Ron Shuebrook, Hilary Slater, Ryan A. Sobkovich, M.J. Steenberg, Eileen Sweeney, Amy Switzer, Alice Teichert, Stephanie Templeton, Frances Thomas, Julia Vandepolder, Renée van der Putten, Melissa Wakefield, Janet Wallace, Bernadette Wells, Janine Wheeler, Karen Wild, Regina Williams, Kate Wilson, Olexander Wlasenko and Tom Wolfenden.

Our grateful thanks is extended to event sponsors Rod Burns – TD Wealth Kempenfelt Asset Management Group, Barriston Law, the Downtown Barrie Business Improvement Association and Cober as well as VIP Party sponsor Craig Busch, Steam Whistle Brewing and Andrew Peller Limited. Thank you also to our Great Finds contributors: Tara Indian Cuisine, Groovy Tuesday’s Bistro, Lazy Tulip Café, RIPE Juicery, Grilled Cheese Social Eatery, Donaleigh’s Irish Public House, The Keg, Shirley’s Bayside Grille, Homestead Artisan Bakery & Café, The Gallery Café, Barrie Fire, The Marilyn Denis Show, Our House, Rinaldi’s Salon and Spa, Bliss Ann Green Yoga, Zehrs Essa Road, Michael & Marion’s, Art Gallery of Ontario, Jeff’s Junk, Santa Sacks Canada, Amba Spa, Woodcarver Darek Stapinski, Shanty Bay Golf Club, Hardwood Ski & Bike, Executive Detailing, True North Yarn, YMCA of Barrie Muskoka, Gates & Boards, McMichael Canadian Art Collection, Kristin’s Creations, Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory, Barrie Country Club, Holland Marsh Wineries, Action First Aid, Studio B, Gravenhurst Opera House, Superior Tire & Auto, MODO Yoga, Lawyer Cesia Green, John Linkert Salon, Jack’s Urban Jungle, Breathe Salon, Kimberley Peacock Esthetics, CityLine, Brabary, Heritage Estate Winery & Cidery, Vespra Hills Golf, Starbucks, Karen Lediard Rug Hooking, Art in Bloem, Leizer Leathers, Kaleidoscoppe Play Centre, Elite Party Rentals, Everleigh Garden, Blue Mountain, Bark & Fitz, Bikeland, Barnstormer Brewing & Distilling Co., Steve Miller Muskoka Chairs, Settlers’ Ghost Golf Club, Scholar’s Choice, Judy Sutherland Wildflower Collection, Parenting By Nature, Above Ground Art Supplies, Shaws Maple Syrup, Fabricland.

Our particular thanks to Michael Smiley Fine Jewellery for generously donating a beautiful sterling silver bracelet for a draw. We also sincerely appreciate the support of our advertisers: Busch Systems, Ex Juris ADR Centres, F.K. Machinery Limited, Homes for the Holidays – May Court Club of Barrie, Salnek’s Custom Window Treatments, Turner Lorriman Sturgeon Wealth Management Group, National Bank Financial, Alpine Equestrian Centre, Cugelman and Eisen – Mitchell Eisen Barrister, Digital Giants, Executive Detailing, Forest Hill Real Estate – Lynnette Eisen, Georgian Copy & Printers Inc., Harvey Kalles Real Estate Ltd – Stephanie Adams, Jay Woods Ltd, Jeff’s Junk, Jeff White Group, Michael Smiley Fine Jewellery, Pacific Art Services Ltd, Plumbtech Plumbing Inc., Royal LePage First Contact Realty – Krista Alkerton, Royal LePage First Contact Realty – John Lawler, Simcoe Audio Video, and Sun Life Financial /McBride Robillard Financial Services. Thank you to Cravings Fine Food Market & Catering, Michael & Marion’s, The Farmhouse and Holly’s Sweets and Eats, The Pack and Sugar City. Thank you to our piper, Charles Meanwell. Special thanks to Stephen Farrell, James Delaney, and Georgian College’s Museum Studies students. We are especially indebted to our exceptional Art Auction Committee: Ruth Anderson (Chair), Nancy Bailey, Barb Brown, Reta Brown, Nadine Carr, Chris Charlebois, Leanna Foster, Patti Gwin, Diane Leuty, Hannah McLaughlin, Elaine Morton, Sue Sgambati, Katherine Ward, Barb Weir, Barb White, Jessica Allen, Emma Gallagher, Mason Gooch, Robin Robinson and MacLaren Development Associate Sheila Delaney.

Photo by Andre Beneteau.